Coronavirus - national lockdown measures in place

New measures came into place across England on 5 November to help protect people, businesses and the NHS and prevent the spread of Covid-19.

More information about the lockdown can be found on our Covid-19 advice pages

Design Awards 2020 Categories

New Buildings and Developments

This category is open to any new development of any size. This includes private and commercial schemes. It can include new housing developments at any size, affordable housing schemes, individual dwellings and commercial buildings such as offices, industrial and shops. It also includes public buildings such as schools, doctor’s surgeries, community centres, village halls, leisure centres, sports pavilions, theatres or extensions to those buildings.

The judges encourage schemes of all sizes to enter, but are particularly interested to see smaller schemes represented (such as new home extensions) as this reflects the majority of planning work seen within Waverley. For larger schemes, the judges will take a particular interest in the urban design approach to the development and its delivery.

The judges will divide this category up to compare like with like developments, so there will be more than one award made in this category.

Conversions, Alterations and Refurbishment

This award covers projects that do not include any extension or new build work. The judges are interested to see schemes that respond positively and creatively to the original building and its setting. This award will not include alterations to historic buildings, but may include change of use by prior notification.

Environment and Landscape

Any type of project which improves the character of an area, such as landscaping schemes, public realm improvements and public art can be submitted for this award. The category covers both publically accessible areas and private landscaped gardens; however it does not include new buildings.

Sustainable Design and Construction

This award seeks to recognise the most innovative, creative and outstanding developments that incorporate sustainable design. The judges want to see a holistic approach and response to the climate emergency. They are seeking schemes that go beyond building regulation requirements or ’bolt on’ renewable technologies.

Historic Environment

Given that Waverley has 1,700 listed buildings, this award will recognise the most exceptional and outstanding alteration, extension or conversion of a historic building (either listed or a building of local merit) or its setting. 

Community Award

This award seeks to recognise developments or local organisations that have contributed to the built or natural environment.

The People’s Choice and Overall Design Awards will also be running this year.

Enter or nominate a project for the 2020 Design Awards

Page owner: Ben Mitchell. Last updated: 28/02/2020 13:56

We use cookies to improve your experience. By viewing our content you are accepting the use of cookies. Read about cookies we use.